Thursday, January 29, 2009

Sri Lanka STF (Special Task Force) Documentary

Sri Lanka STF (Special Task Force) was featured in a Chris Ryan's Elite World Cops program recently. Hope you enjoy it.

Wednesday, January 28, 2009

Watch Sri Lanka vs. India 1st ODI Live!

The match is scheduled to start at 10:00 AM (LKT) at Rangiri Dambulu International Cricket Stadium. India has won the toss and has chosen to field first. Two teams are as follows,

India: 1 Sachin Tendulkar, 2 Gautam Gambhir, 3 Rohit Sharma 4 Yuvraj Singh, 5 Suresh Raina, 6 Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt/wk), 7 Yusuf Pathan, 8 Pragyan Ojha, 9 Zaheer Khan, 10 Ishant Sharma, 11 Munaf Patel

Sri Lanka: 1 Sanath Jayasuriya, 2 Tillakaratne Dilshan, 3 Kumar Sangakkara (wk), 4 Mahela Jayawardene (capt), 5 Thilina Kandamby, 6 Chamara Kapugedera, 7 Thilan Thushara, 8 Farveez Maharoof, 9 Nuwan Kulasekara, 10 Muttiah Muralitharan, 11 Ajantha Mendis

Live scorecard is available on Cricinfo.

Wednesday, January 21, 2009

Watch Sri Lanka vs. Pakistan 2nd ODI Live!

You can watch Sri Lanka vs. Paskisthan 2nd one day international cricket match live on
Just click on the "Play" button below. ;-)

Global Economic Crisis Hits Sri Lankan Cricket

(Image Source: Crickinfo. (C) AFP)

Yes, the "Global Economic Crisis" has hit the Sri Lankan Cricket. This doesn't have to do any thing with the current form of Sri Lankan Cricket team which I guess result of long seasons of low quality cricket and restless back to back series. :-(

The Dilmah the main sponsors of Sri Lankan Cricket team haven't renewed its sponsorship mainly due to current global financial situation. Dialog Telekom has stepped up as the main sponsor but only temporally. Dialog is not very bold enough to make such a large investment. So Dialog Telekom will be the main sponsors of the Sri Lankan Cricket team at least for the three back to back ODIs against Pakistan. In the mean time MAS Holdings will continue its sponsorship till the end of the deal which falls on March 2009.

Monday, January 12, 2009

Sri Lanka won by 130 while two players setting up individual records.

Sri Lanka beat the Zimbabwe by 130 runs. Sri Lanka got into a good start with some untidy balling of Zimbabwe fast ballers and good partnership of Upul Tharanga and Sanath Jayasuriya. But Sanath got out while chansing a wide delivery. And Zimbabwe fast ballers had a crack at Sri Lankan top order dismissing Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardena and Chamara Kapugedara cheaply.

Thanks to the watchful batting of Upul Tharanga, Mubarak and Mathews and aggressiveness of Thilina Thushara, Sri Lanka posted 210 on a baller friendly track. Mathews made his 1st ODI half century, 52 not out with 1x4 and 2x6.

Thanks to Nuwan Kulasekara's early strikes and brilence of Ajantha Mendis and Murali, Zimbabwe were restricted to 80 runs. (4th time that the Zimbabweans got out less than 100 against Sri Lanka) Mendis and Kulasekara took three wickets each, Murali took a couple and Thilina Thushara and Angelo Mathews took one each. 21 year old Angelo Mathews won the "Man of the Match" award.
Stuart Matsikenyeri is cleaned up by Ajantha Mendis, Sri Lanka v Zimbabwe, Tri-series, 2nd match, Mirpur, January 12, 2009
(Image Source: Cricinfo, (C) AFP)

Ajantha Mendis - Fastest to get 50 ODI wickets
When Ajantha Mendis took Ray Price's wicket he became the fastest to get 50 ODI wickets braking 10 year old record, set by Indian fast baller Ajith Agarkar. He took 23 matches to do it while Mendis did it in 19 matches.

Mahela Jayawardene - Most Number of ODI Catches
Mahela Jayawardene silently equalize another record. Most number of ODI catches by a non-wicket keeper. Another Indian Mohommad Azharuddin have taken 156 catches in 334 ODIs. Now Mahela have taken 156 catches in 289 ODIs.

Ajantha Mendis - All Set to Brake the Record

Today Sri Lanka is taking on Zimbabwe on Grameenphone Tri-Series. This is Sri Lanka's first ODI in the series. On Saturday Zimbabwe turns the table by beating Bangladesh by 38 runs. The match is scheduled to start on 0830 (LKT - Lanka Time) in Mirpur Ground.

Today's spot light goes to Ajantha Mendis who have already taken 48 wickets in 18 matches. If he could get another two wickets he will be the fastest to get 50 ODI wickets. Current record holder India's Ajith Agarkar has done it 23 games. He have also taken the 50th wicket against Zimbabwe in Harare, 1998.

Ajantha went wicketless in the last ODI, Sri Lanka's Zimbabwe tour in 2008. He got injured in club match in Sri Lanka and missed the 1st Bangladesh due to the injury. Lets wish him good luck to brake the 10 year old record in this match.

Airtel Offcial Website Launched.

Airtel has launched its official website. You can visit the web site via the link But still they haven't released prepaid or postpaid plans and tarrif rates. Seems to be Airtel will be providing cutting edge 3G experience and BlackBerry Solutions. BlackBerry Curve 8320 and BlackBerry Bold will be available initially with Sim locked to Airtel, which will make BlackBerry solutions more cheaper.

Airtel will starts its operation today (12th January). Sri Lankans are expecting Airtel to make dramatic changes in the mobile industry in means of rates. There were long queues in Airtel branches last week, people trying to book an Airtel number for them selves.

Those who have already booked numbers have to wait till 15th to get the connections. You will be needing copy of your national identity card and passport size photograph. Stay tune in for more information.